Meet the Governors of Christ Church CE (VA) Junior School

The Governing Board plays a vital part in the running of the school. They meet half termly and work extremely hard to support the Headteacher in making decisions about every aspect of school life.


The Full Governing Board meet once per term. In addition, there are a range of committees with delegated responsibilities, as identified in the terms of reference for each committee.


The Governing Board is split into the following committees:

  • Resources
  • Curriculum and Achievement
  • Pastoral
  • Ethos

The Resources Committee is responsible for the financial management of the school.

The Curriculum and Achievement Committee is responsible for standards of teaching and learning throughout school.

The Pastoral Committee is responsible for the attendance, behaviour, welfare and safeguarding of pupils.

The Ethos Committee is responsible for maintaining the vision and aims of the school in a distinctively Christian context.

Our Current Members of the Governing Board:

Click here to see the Register of Governors 

Reverend Angela - Chair of Governors (Resources, Curriculum & Achievement, Pastoral, Ethos, Headteacher Appraisal) 

Miss Alison Embleton - Headteacher Ex-Officio (Resources, Curriculum & Achievement, Pastoral, Ethos)

Mr Nigel Castledine - Vice Chairperson, Foundation (Resources, Curriculum & Achievement, Ethos, Headteacher Appraisal)

Mr Mick Green - Vice Chairperson, Local Authority (Resources, Headteacher Appraisal)

Mrs Susie Durant - Foundation (Curriculum & Achievement, Pastoral, Ethos)

Miss Ester Mor- Staff (Curriculum & Achievement)

Miss Ami Hallgarth - Parent (Curriculum & Achievement, Pastoral)

Miss Sheridan Smith - Parent (Curriculum & Achievement, Headteacher Appraisal


Chairs of Committees:

Resources - Mr Nigel Castledine

Curriculum & Achievement - Mrs Susie Durant

Pastoral - Ms Ami Hallgarth

Ethos - Revd. Angela


Governors who have served in the last 12 months:

Mr Ian Ferris - Foundation (Pastoral 


Minutes of Full Governing Board Meetings 2016-17:

Annual General Meeting

Autumn 1

Autumn 2

Spring Term

Summer Term

Minutes of Full Governing Board Meetings 2015-16:

Autumn Term

Spring Term

Summer Term